As we love the workspace admins, we have a great update to save you time. With update 2.73 we simplified the permission management, allowing admins to restrict users from changing anything in their workspace. Furthermore, we created new features to make it easier to collaborate with your colleagues or others. Keep reading to find out more about update 2.73. Do you have ideas for Workspace 365? Vote or submit a feature request!
New: Restrict users from editing the workspace
It’s great when people can edit and customise their own workspace, however, there are also situations where you need to disable this feature in order to help people. That is why with this update, we’ve made it possible to change the permissions of a user group to disable editing for all the users in the group. When set up, users can still use their workspace like they always do and for instance create to-do’s, calendar items and edit documents, they just won’t be able to edit their workspace dashboard itself. Therefore, the editing menu on that page will not be visible, creating a “read-only” mode.
Three situations in which you want to be able to disable editing
Imagine setting up the perfect digital workspace. You interview people from all levels and carefully curate the workspace. The adoption goes perfectly, but then after some days you receive messages from people that miss tiles, and “no they didn’t delete them or change anything”. Does that happen a lot? No, but you can imagine that a health care worker doesn’t have (or want) to change their workspace dashboard while visiting patients. Here are three situations in which it’s good to disable editing:
- Health care workers want to focus on their patients, not on updating their workspace or adding tiles. That is why you can now disable the editing of the workspace. By doing this, the users won’t be able to accidentally remove tiles, saving them (and yourself) some IT-stress.
- Another reason to disable editing is when you set up an informational portal. This way your users or guest users get the interface exactly how you designed it.
- Disabling editing is also a sensible move, when the workspace is used in public places, such as a city hall or public library. In these cases, you want people to only use the functions you offer, and you don’t want them to be able to change anything.
Simplifying the permission settings
Disabling editing is now available through your Group Permissions settings, where we’ve also made improvements by introducing three states for each user group permission. If you set a Group Permission state this will affect all the workspace users, unless their Group Permissions are changed. You can read more about this on the Support Portal.
New: More notification types
A while ago we introduced the Workspace 365 App Store. With this App Store admins or group owners are able to create and edit applications for their teams. To improve the store and remove manual tasks, users will now also receive a notification when a new app is published for them or when they receive owner permissions.
New: Internally share links to SharePoint documents
With update 2.73, Workspace 365 introduces a new option to keep your information safer and to make sure it stays ‘in-house’. Before, it was already possible to share documents through links and to choose if people could edit or only view the document. With this update, it also becomes possible to choose if you want your SharePoint documents to be viewable or editable by anyone or solely by people within your organisation.
Why would you use internal share links?
Every organisation deals with information and documents they don’t want publicly available. However, sometimes it is complicated to make sure that this information is in fact only available to people within your organisation, especially when information is shared through links and links can be clicked by anyone. With this new option, you can make sure that even when a link is clicked by someone whom the link is not intended for (someone outside of your organisation), they cannot view the document – only people inside your organisation can.
Improvement: Retrieve shared mailboxes in the email app
A lot of people manage multiple mailboxes, for instance their personal and department mailboxes. For these people, we have made it easier to retrieve, organise and view these mailboxes in the email app.
How do you retrieve shared mailboxes?
It’s easy. Simply go to your email app and click the eye icon in the left panel to manage your mailboxes. After clicking on the eye, you can hit refresh. The email app will now automatically retrieve all mailboxes you have full access to. In this same screen, you can also determine which mailboxes you want visible in your email app and their order. This way, you can quickly and easily view the mailboxes that are relevant to you and stay organised.
What else is new?
The features above are the highlights of this update. But there’s more, such as:
- The Group Permissions model now allows three states for each condition: Allow, Deny, Not Set
- Notifications when users get access to or ownership of an application
- New calendar events can be created in a dialog instead of a new window
- Create calendar events from the plus menu in the workspace header
- Scroll through long drop-downs when editing a tile tab
- Renewed Move and Copy dialogs
- Reduced time to set the admin’s workspace template for existing users
Are you curious about all the new features, fixes and improvements? View the announcements. Do you have ideas for Workspace 365? Vote or submit a feature request.
View these new features in your Workspace 365 environment. Don’t have your own Workspace 365 environment or didn’t receive the update yet? Then try our free demo. Do you want to receive release notifications? Go to the Support Portal to set this up.
Ps. Don’t see the update yet? Then you’ll receive it shortly from your IT service provider.